Kalka to Shimla Train- WORLD HERITAGE SITE

Blog / Blog

Railway station, Kalka, Haryana, 133302
Listing Owner
Listing ID: 98392719
Listing Description :

"Kalka-Shimla Railway: Timeless Journey Through India's Hills, Where History Meets Natural Beauty"

Amidst the serene landscapes in the foothills of the Himalayan Shivalik Hills of northern India, the Kalka-Shimla Railway stands as a testament to British engineering prowess and a breathtaking journey through the hills. This remarkable UNESCO World Heritage site has been captivating tourists offering a unique hill railway experience.

With a history dating back over a century, this railway marvel seamlessly blends architectural splendor with technical excellence. Spanning its 96-kilometer length are an astounding 800 bridges, 919 bends, and 102 tunnels, earning it a prestigious place in the Guinness World Records for the steepest rise in altitude. The longest bridge, stretching nearly 100 meters, adds to the railway's grandeur, making it one of India's most picturesque hill railways.

The journey from Kalka to Shimla, spanning approximately 5-6 hours, is a testament to meticulous planning and engineering of its time. Running at a leisurely pace of 25 kilometers per hour, the train gracefully negotiates a remarkable altitude difference of 1400 meters, offering travelers a chance to soak in the serene beauty of the surroundings at their own pace. The railway isn't about speed; it's about immersing in the surroundings.

Reserving train tickets, much like the standard practice in Indian railways, typically involves booking well in advance, often a month or two prior to your intended travel date. Unreserved seats are assigned on a first-come, first-served basis. To secure your preferred travel class, such as deluxe, vista dome, or first-class coaches, it is strongly recommended to make your reservations in advance through the official website. It's also crucial to keep in mind the significant altitude difference between Kalka and Shimla, especially during the winter season. As a result, taking necessary precautions and packing warm clothing is highly advised for a comfortable journey.

  for more live train schedule visit https://erail.in or call 139 


Train Train Name From Dep. To Arr. Travel M T W T F S S
52457 KLK SML EXP KLK 03.45 SML 08.55 05.10 Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
72451 RAIL MOTOR KLK 05.25 SML 09.25 04.00 Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
52451 SHIVALK DLX EXP KLK 05.45 SML 10.50 05.05 Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
52453 KLK SML EXP KLK 06.20 SML 11.50 05.30 Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
52459 KLK SML EXPRESS KLK 07.00 SML 12.30 05.30 Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
52441 KLK SML PASS KLK 07.00 SML 12.55 05.55 Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
52455 HIMALYAN QUEEN KLK 11.55 SML 16.45 04.50 Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
52443 KLK-SML HSP SPL KLK 13.05 SML 19.40 06.35 Y Y Y Y Y Y Y

Listing Location: